Frequently Asked Questions SDL Online Translation Editor

Is the Editor only for translation professionals?

Absolutely not! The SDL Online Translation Editor is ideal for anyone who needs to translate a document quickly and easily without the need to install any software.

Is the SDL Online Translation Editor a web-based version of SDL Trados Studio?

No. SDL Trados Studio remains the number one tool of choice for professional translators. The SDL Online Translation Editor is specifically designed for casual translators, as such it only provides a subset of the features found in SDL Trados Studio. Moreover, the Editor does not accept any exportable SDL files such as Project Packages, Translation Memories or Termbases.

What do I need to be able to use the SDL Online Translation Editor?

All you need to use the SDL Online Translation Editor is a computer with a supported web browser and an internet connection. SDL recommends either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox. The Editor does not support Internet Explorer.

Do I need an account to use the SDL Online Translation Editor?

Yes. In order to use SDL Online Translation Editor you must have an SDL ID. If you don’t have an SDL ID you will be prompted to create one when you register for the Online Translation Editor.

Which languages are supported by the SDL Online Translation Editor?

The SDL Online Translation Editor supports translating documents to and from any one of the 47 supported languages .

How secure is the SDL Online Translation Editor?

All documents uploaded to the Editor are stored safely on our secure server network. Your content is treated as confidential and never shared with other SDL users. For more information about our data security policy, see our Terms and Conditions.

Why has my document been pre-translated? Can I switch this feature off?

Machine translations are automatically applied to your document when you open it for translation in the Editor to help you get started. If you want to remove the machine translations, click on the 'Clear Target Segment' in the menu.

What is a Translation Memory?

A translation memory is a database that captures your translations as you work, and remembers them for future use, meaning you never have to translate the same sentence twice. The SDL Online Translation Editor has an in-built translation memory that is used to pre-translate your documents. This helps improve the consistency of your translations, as well as making it faster to complete a translation.

How do I access my Translation Memory?

At the moment it is not possible to create, edit or view the contents of your Translation Memory in the SDL Online Translation Editor. When you complete your first translation in the Editor, a TM will be created in the background and it will store everything that you translate so that it can be reused in future projects. This TM is personal to you and will not be shared or used by anybody else.

Can I use my existing SDL Trados Studio Translation Memories and projects in the Online Translation Editor?

No, this is not currently possible. The Editor is a standalone translation environment, meaning it cannot accept SDL Trados Studio Translation Memories or another exportable Studio files.

Do I need to have SDL Trados Studio to use the Online Translation Editor?

No you don’t need to have any other SDL products in order to use SDL Online Translation Editor. Just a web browser and an internet connection.

Which file types are compatible with the Online Translation Editor?

You can translate the following file types: .doc, .docx, .xlsx, .pdf, .txt, .ppt, .pptx, .odt, .xml, .htm, .html and .its.

How do I cancel my subscription?

Cancelling can be done easily within the 'Subscription' tab found wthin your account. Simply untick the 'Auto-Renewal' box to cancel your subscription. After you cancel you will continue to have access to the Editor until the end of your billing period. You will not be charged a fee for cancelling.

Please note we will archive and store your documents and translations for 90 days - if you decide to re-activate your account within 90 days of cancelling your data will still be available. If you would like to reactivate your account after 90 days your documents will no longer be available. Visit our Data Retention policy for more. 

 

Feedback and Knowledge Base